Monika Haefelfinger, President

Born in Basel, Switzerland, Monika Haefelfinger’s interest in art and design deepened during an apprenticeship with her father’s architecture firm in Sissach, Switzerland. Shortly after, she moved to Los Angeles to attend the University of Southern California, and graduated with a Bachelor of Architecture Degree and Robert Allen Rogaff Award in 1992; two years later, she completed her Master of Science Degree in Advanced Architectural Design from Columbia University. Following her studies, she worked for Basel architectural office Herzog and de Meuron in Basel, Switzerland, and played a key role in the building several award-winning buildings including the Institute for Hospital Pharmaceuticals Rossettiareal in Basel, Switzerland. Monika returned to the US to work for DMJM/ Keating on notable high-rise building projects in Asia before establishing her own design studio. In 2000, XTEN Architecture was born in partnership with her partner and late husband Austin Kelly. Monika Haefelfinger currently lives in Los Angeles where she leads the firm with XTEN Principal, Scott Utterstrom.

Scott Utterstrom, Principal

Scott Utterstrom joined XTEN Architecture in 2007 and has since played key a role the firm’s many award-winning projects.  Born and raised in Portland, Oregon, Scott graduated with a Bachelor of Architecture from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo in 2003. During this time, he spent a year abroad studying architecture in Copenhagen, Denmark. From 2003 through 2006, Scott worked in the Los Angeles office of AGPS Architecture to support the firm in building nationally recognized projects including the Portland Aerial Tram. In 2006, he received a fellowship to attend the University of California, Los Angeles Graduate School of Architecture and Urban Design and finished one year later with a Master of Architecture. In 2015, he was named Principal at XTEN. Scott Utterstrom currently lives in Los Angeles where he leads XTEN with Founding Partner and President, Monika Haefelfinger.